Handling multiple verticle deployment

Every Vert.x module needs a single point of start.
Once your application has many verticles interacting you’ll need one verticle to start them all, one verticle to find them, one verticle to bring them all and in the darkness bind them (I’m sorry).
For this particular task I prefer to use javascript. I tend to think of this verticle as the start script of my application, so I like it to be easy to write and I found the javascript syntax to be a good fit on this.

My deployment verticle

I usually name it app-deployer.js and I place it in src/main/javascript (I’ll explain below how to add it to Maven).

var container = require("vertx/container")
var console = require("vertx/console")
var config = container.config;

var skipDeploy;
if (config.skipDeploy) {
  skipDeploy = config.skipDeploy;
} else {
  skipDeploy = [];
}

const verticles = [
  {
    name : "con.locademiaz.vertx.FirstVerticle",
    instances : 1,
    config : {
      foo_param : config.bar_param
    }
  }
];

deployVerticles(verticles, 0);

function deployVerticles(verticles, verticleIndexToDeploy) {
  if (verticleIndexToDeploy < verticles.length) {
    const verticle = verticles[verticleIndexToDeploy];
    const verticleName = verticle.name;
    if (skipDeploy.indexOf(verticleName) == -1 ) {
      container.deployVerticle(
        verticleName,
        verticle.instances,
        verticle.config,
        function(err, deployID) {
          if (!err) {
            console.log("[Ok] " + verticleName);
            deployVerticles(verticles, verticleIndexToDeploy + 1);
          } else {
            console.log("[Fail] " + verticleName + " -> " + err.getMessage());
          }
        }
      )
    } else {
      console.log("[Skip] " + verticleName);
      deployVerticles(verticles, verticleIndexToDeploy + 1);
    }
  }
}

In this file you can do all kinds of tricks.
One of my preferred ones is to add a list of blacklisted verticles. This is useful for testing because you can deploy this file, getting your all system deployed, and mock some behavior inside your test.
Also, as I like to keep my external configuration lean, it is here where I manipulate what is passed by the command line and adapt it to each verticle needs.

Extending your Maven configuration

Following what is explained in my previous post this is how you add your verticle deployer to your Maven configuration

pom.xml

Add the resource folder

<project>
  ...
  <build>
    ...
    <resources>
      ...
      <resource><directory>src/main/javascript</directory></resource>
      ...
    </resources>
    ...
  </build>
  ...
</project>

And now, because I’m a control freak, I don’t like unnecessary files ends up in the jar for my project, so I exclude them from the package as follows:

<project>
  ...
  <build>
    ...
    <plugins>
      ...
      <plugin>
        <groupId>org.apache.maven.plugins</groupId>
        <artifactId>maven-jar-plugin</artifactId>
        <version>2.4</version>
        <configuration>
          <excludes>
            <exclude>app-deployer.js</exclude>
          </excludes>
        </configuration>
      </plugin>
      ...
    </plugins>
    ...
  </build>
  ...
</project>

And that’s it, now you have a nice entry point for your module.
Enjoy.
.

One Response

  1. […] the upcoming entries you can expect more insights about handling deployment, configuration, vert.x packaging, testing, continuous integration and any other shenanigan I […]

Leave a Reply

